The translator or the interpreter?

This question I have raised to myself many times, thanks to which many people think that translation and interpretation are the same. Because of my university background I can tell you; at the university I have received more training as a translator than interpreter.

The interpreter is one who has very developed oral skills. This does not mean that I’m not able to express myself in other language different to my mother tongue, to have an informal conversation with my friends, to make an exposition about my points of view, to ask for information or introduce myself. I can not translate simultaneously when someone speaks in English to Spanish, and that would be a disadvantage if I’ll work as interpreter, since they do it efficiently. There are people who develop both skills (written and oral skills), in my case it does not happen, because I’m introverted, my written skills are much better, my reading compression is very good.
I personally do not see it so bad. I prefer to specialize and perfect my written skills, to make impeccable and professional translations as far as possible; although I’m not sworn translator (that is another subject, I’ll speak later in detail
So if you ask me again, my answer is: I am a translator, I am proud to be one and I translate with excellent quality to show not only my skills, but the love for what I do too.

Leave a Reply

